PHOENIX RISING JULY P.A.D. TRAVELOG – DESTINATION: ARC DE TRIOMPHE

ArcdeTriompheThe Arc de Triomphe de l’Étoile is one of the most famous monuments in Paris. It stands in the center of the Place Charles de Gaulle (originally named Place de l’Étoile), at the western end of the Champs-Élysées. It should not be confused with a smaller arch, the Arc de Triomphe du Carrousel, which stands west of the Louvre. The Arc de Triomphe (in English: “Triumphal Arch”) honors those who fought and died for France in the French Revolutionary and the Napoleonic Wars, with the names of all French victories and generals inscribed on its inner and outer surfaces. Beneath its vault lies the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier from World War I.

As we visit this grand “City of Lights”, we begin by writing a triumphant poem honoring Parisian achievement!. (Be aware, this will not be the only site we will see in France during our month long excursion!)

17 thoughts on “PHOENIX RISING JULY P.A.D. TRAVELOG – DESTINATION: ARC DE TRIOMPHE

  1. connielpeters

    Arc De Triomphe

    An archway
    Stands in Paris France
    For soldiers
    Remember
    I can see them marching through
    Here to There

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LA VIE EN ROSE

    Mademoiselle, please?
    I am enchanted by this place,
    for I am new here. I am
    how do you say? A visitor?
    Visiteur? This city is
    magnificent! Magnifique?
    My French is weak.
    Oh, what’s the word… faible?
    But the beauty…vous êtes beaux!
    I have… much love?
    Beaucoup d’amour!
    Faites-moi l’amour!
    Mademoiselle, please?
    L’ensorcellement vous jetez…
    a magic spell?

    !!SLAP!!

    Monsieur, please? I help you?
    “Yes. Why did she slap me?”
    “I explain. Let me see?
    What did you mean to say?”
    “I wanted to say I am
    visiting this magnificent city.
    I was captivated by it’s beauty,
    and I was very enamored by it.
    It makes love to my senses,
    like a magic spell. Why?”
    “You said you were visiting. Yes.
    But in your magnificent poor French
    you said she was very beautiful.
    That you love her and begged
    to make love to her. It would be magic!
    Monsieur please, you are Américain, Oui?
    May I suggest… get a new book!”

    La vie en rose!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Tanka for PHOENIX RISING JULY P.A.D. TRAVELOG – DESTINATION: ARC DE TRIOMPHE […]

    Like

  4. Triumphal Arch

    Inscribed: A Soldier
    Unnamed tomb beneath stone arch
    flame burns forever –
    bronze torch carries light for all
    lost remembered for always.

    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin 2015

    Liked by 2 people

  5. William Preston

    FUTILITY

    This job
    would frustrate Job:
    it would be easier
    to escrow Moscow or plaster
    Paris.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. July 7 – The Arc de Troimphe

    I Saw It Once

    I visited Paris once
    While stationed in Germany
    The Arc, the Tower, and the people
    Really didn’t much impress me
    So I went back to Germany

    Liked by 1 person

  7. History and Cuisine

    If I visit France,
    how will I ever leave?
    Architecture seen
    in familiar films
    would be right there
    in front of me.
    Everyone speaks of
    Paris being the most
    romantic city,
    and Julia Child taught
    me about the cuisine.
    At a charming cafe,
    sipping a latte, nibbling
    a brioche, I could
    watch people stroll.
    In evening, light
    cast upon monuments,
    museums, and lovers
    would persuade me
    to stay out all night.
    Could anyone tire
    of beauty and romance?

    Like

Leave a comment